Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-04-20, 10:36 AM  
angie_nrs

Choosing a good mattress....help!

I've been sleeping on the mattress we have now for over 15 years and it just isn't working any more. I'm a side sleeper and I toss and turn all night b/c my arms/shoulders get sore. I'm a pear, so that doesn't help much either b/c sometimes my hips and low back get sore as well, but I'm usually tossing enough through the night that the back and hips don't bother me much. Add to that the hot flashes that wake me up throughout the night as well. Thankfully the hot flashes are lessening in intensity and in the amount I have thru the night.

I finally ordered a new bed from Tochta and it is OK, but sadly not the answer I was hoping for. It does seem cooler, which is nice. It was highly recommended by a close friend who is very overweight, so I was certain it would be the 'answer'. I think it is in the same category of mattress as Casper and Purple. It is better, but I still have issues with arms being sore. I'd say it is rather firm. I have used the foam toppers and actually had one on the last mattress but that didn't seem to help much......maybe it may have added to the problem?

I have also been trying different pillows and have already sent 2 of them back b/c they didn't work for me. I prefer down pillows, but am willing to try anything at this point. The only problem is, it can get expensive to keep trying something different.

I know this issue is completely unique to each person but was wondering if any of you had found your sleep 'sweet spot' as far a pillows and mattresses go. It seems as I get older and keep working out, my sleep seems to be more and more important to me for recovery.
Old 10-04-20, 12:13 PM  
fanofladyvols

Side sleeper here...I get my best sleep on my couch!

Never give up on your body!-- Miranda Esmonde-White