Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-23-15, 10:36 AM  
Pat58
VF Supporter

Another question for the Margaret Richard fans - her brand of DOMS?

I've got to preface this question by saying, I've been working out for many years. In my young days I did gym workouts and lifted heavy free weights 4 to 5 days weekly and also did step classes and high impact aerobic videos at home.

Let's just say I'm no stranger to DOMS! But those workouts have long gone by the wayside and in my boomer years I focus on barre/fusion, yoga, Pilates and occasional low impact workouts. I use weight machines or light weight videos, nothing like the old days.

Since using Margaret Richard's videos on a regular basis, I have a different kind of DOMS than the heavy weights days. It's like a constant humming or burning, not limited to one muscle group but either the entire upper body or entire lower body - every little muscle fiber. It fades, and then I'll do something like going up a set of stairs, or doing a low impact cardio video, or reaching overhead for an object, and a flood of burning suddenly wells up in my muscles! I did a low impact cardio the other night and had to stop and walk it off several times from the intense burning.

Is this normal? I call it "Margaret muscles," it's as if she gives you a different class of DOMS and you never know when it's going to zing you. I am interested in any and all feedback!
Pat58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-15, 11:02 AM  
MsThistlebottom

Yes, I've experienced "Margaret muscles" as well! I'm doing heavy lifting at a gym right now, but I swear I've gotten worse DOMS (especially biceps and triceps) from Margaret workouts. Not sure what it is--the higher reps?

"When I was young, I used to admire intelligent people; as I grow older, I admire kind people." -- Abraham Joshua Heschel