Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-04-07, 07:55 PM  
Sancho
VF Supporter

Location: My body is in Louisville but my heart is in Atlanta
HIIT workout

I want to try a HIIT workout. I read that some think that doing the blast only portion of an IMAX workout would qualify . . . what do you think?

Otherwise, I have a stairmaster and can do that. How should I do the intervals? One minute at the highest possible level followed by one minute recovery for 20 minutes? Or should the timing be different.

Thanks for any insight you can provide.
Sancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-07, 08:10 PM  
Mary09

Scroll to the bottom of this article for Cosgrove's HIIT suggestion.
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/alwyn8.htm

What little I know of IMAX blasts, I'm guessing that blasts only wouldn't really be intervals, just high intensity throughout.

I think that there are all kinds of HIIT variations, as far as how long to be "high intensity" and not.
Mary09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-07, 08:28 AM  
Cowgirl32

HIIT, is highly individual. A more advanced exerciser's HIIT takes a lot more effort to get the heart a pumping, because they're body has become more efficient at pumping blood to their extremities. So, your HIIT would be interval training to a more advanced exerciser that does HIIT. If that makes sense :P Unless you're a really advanced exerciser.
Cowgirl32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-07, 01:01 PM  
Sancho
VF Supporter

Thanks for the article link. I tried his workout suggestion today. I was on the stairmaster and did 1 min at level 12 followed by 2 min at level 7. I did this 8 times. With warm up and cool down, it was 30 minutes. Toward the end, I had to stop for 1-2 seconds during the 1 minute at level 12.

Does it sound like I did this right?