Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-02-12, 02:15 PM  
happytraveler

Does it exist? Strength training circuit w/o tons of squats?

Hi all! I would like to focus on more strength training in my rotation, I know it is the missing piece of my puzzle I am a shorty and know for sure from experience that lots of squats and lunges do not do my body good. I am a Jazzercise instructor and average 14 classes a month so I am already getting plies, lunges and squats mixed in with my cardio.

I have completed a TA bootcamp twice in the last year and a half with great results, it just really messes me up. I have two chronic injuries as a result of doing them
I am open to picking out pieces of TA that I like and doing that but I am CRAVING a good sweaty, burning, metabolic stimulating strength workout! But at the same time I don't want to look boxy. I am 4'11 so I can look boxy pretty quick.

Just started working with my nutritionist so the D-word will not be a problem. I am about 20%BF/ 110lbs so I am not overweight, just trying to reach the next level. Right now I am leaning toward NMTZ 3xs a week while avoiding all the squaty parts but then I saw reviews for the A.R.T Method and Tonique Sculpting and Essentrics and now I am crazed! Do you all have any suggestions for me??? Please?
happytraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-12, 02:26 PM  
Belle de Jour

Tonique is almost all squats and lunges. And a lot of high impact.