Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-09-24, 03:32 PM  
Camember

Chronic trochanteric pain - what workouts to do

This is the first thread I open. I hope to do it right

This month I was following an easy to do rotation to start exercising regularly again (I've been working out really irregularly for 3 years). I was very happy with my easy but doable workouts...

...But my right hip isn't happy at all. To the point that today I'm limping a bit. Three years ago I was diagnosed chronic trochanteritis or chronic trochanteric pain (I think that's how "trocanteritis crónica" is said in English, my mother tongue is Spanish, so sorry if it is not the proper term).

I was recommended taking some medicines for the pain but they didn't work at all. I had to srop doing walking workouts, cardio or several yoga postures and fitness exercises because my right hip killed me after every session.

The only thing that was useful to reduce the pain was pilates. I absolutely love pilates, so that was not a problem for me. I have many, many Stotts' and almost all 10 minute solution pilates DVDs. I have downloaded many pilates videos from YouTube (Mary Winsor, Jessica Smith, Jennifer Kries, Lucy Smith, Lucy Lloyd Barker, Lottie Murphy...).

But as I missed my fitness workouts, I tried to add a few fitness videos every week.

The problem is that if I don't do pilates everyday, my hip kills me.

So I have a few questions that I want to ask here, as if anybody can help me, it surely will be another VFer

Are there any other VFers that suffer trochanteritis? If that's the case, is there anything they can do apart from pilates that does not produce more pain?