Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-31-04, 08:35 PM  
susan p
VF Supporter

the complexity of your life compared to your workout preferences?

PeggyT ("Peg, Video Buff") said something in another thread which piqued my interest. In Daisy's discussion about "mindless" workouts, Peg said

"I wonder if there is a correlation between what we do for our day jobs and what we want out of a workout. I am an accountant by day and do a lot of number crunching and reconciliations. I don't want to use brain cells when I work out"

I hope you don't mind, Peg, that I'm piggybacking off that.

I used to do a lot of videos and I loved complex choreography. Christi hi/lo is still a favorite of mine and I do it once every week or two. HOWEVER, since I started homeschooling my kids about a year and a half ago, I find myself WALKING for much of my cardio. (Of course, I also moved to PA where it is hilly and a walk can really work you out, compared to Indiana, where I had to jog to get my HR where it neeed to be because IN is so flat!)

Anyway, I find that I am *so* brain-dead after doing so much teaching (is there such a thing as BRAIN hypertrophy, btw? ) that I want to do a simple repetitive motion. I kind of "zen out" when I'm walking outdoors in a way that I just DON'T doing other types of workouts. This change has lasted 18 months now, so I really think it is a permanent part of my landscape.

SO, my question is, do you think your lifestyle/job/etc affects the kind of workouts you like to do? SPECIFICALLY, have you ever had a lifestyle change and found that an exercise style change accompanied it (because that would sort of prove the point, wouldn't it?)
susan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-04, 09:15 PM  
gypsygirl64

Quote:
Originally Posted by susan p
PeggyT ("Peg, Video Buff") said something in another thread which piqued my interest. In Daisy's discussion about "mindless" workouts, Peg said