Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-15-12, 09:30 PM  
neatski

Pet peeves at the gym- what are yours?

After years of only working out at home, I spend time at a gym now (which I love) but it's given me the opportunity to develop some pet peeves about it!

I know I'm not a kettlebell guru (and I know there are soft and hard styles of training), but the basic premises of kettlebells- using momentum and deriving explosive power from the core and lower body- are things I've been working on for almost 6 months with the help of tons of workout videos and YouTube. It annoys me so much when I'm at the gym and I watch people "swing" kettlebells by basically just moving their arms back and forth. Then, they look at me like I'm doing it wrong because I'm using momentum and the hip snap. GRRR. Even the trainers have bad form! I wanted to go up to one the other day, but I decided to keep my mouth shut.

Ok, plus there's this kid who comes in and yaps away on his cellphone while one-handedly using some of the equipment.

What's your gym-related pet peeve?

The most effective workout is the one you're not doing right now!

neatski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-12, 10:21 PM  
Elise7

Men grunting. Men doing 5 reps with swinging and then sitting there and chatting with their friends for 5 minutes before doing anything else. Men swearing to show just how hard they are working.

I love working out in the privacy of my own home! But when I'm at college and I want to do free weights, I have to put up with the above!
Elise7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-12, 10:38 PM  
kali1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elise7 View Post
Men grunting. Men doing 5 reps with swinging and then sitting there and chatting with their friends for 5 minutes before doing anything else. Men swearing to show just how hard they are working.