RKS: Reinhardt Kettlebell System- Disc 4

Owen Evans
Year Released: 2011

Categories: Kettlebell

Video Fitness reviews may not be copied, quoted, or posted elsewhere without the permission of the reviewer

Show oldest reviews first

This is disk 4 of the RKS Kettlebell System. If you are following the schedule, this will be the 3rd and 4th workout in week 2.

Workout 7 is a strength workout that is split into 3 parts. The first 10 minutes you perform 1 squat and press on each side, 2 single leg dead lifts on each side, 2 squats and presses each side and 4 single leg dead lifts per side. The squat and press works you pretty well. My balance isn't very good, so I struggle with the single leg dead lifts. The next 7 minutes consist of the tactical lunge for 30 seconds, swing of your choice for 30 seconds followed by 30 seconds of rest. You do 5 sets. The tactical lunge is difficult for me to get the timing right. I never did get fast with them. I did left hand swings for set 1 and 3, right hand swings for set 2 and 4 and 2 handed swings for set 5. The final 5 minutes consist of Russian twists for 30 seconds, plank for 30 seconds and 30 second rest. There are 3 sets. For the Russian twist, you can do it with or without the kettlebell. I chose to do set 1 and 3 without the kettlebell. Planks are planks. After this workout I really felt it in my core. I feel this is a pretty good workout.

Workout 8 is a 15 minute challenge workout. Exercises in this workout are 10 pushups, 20 squat jumps, 30 rows (15 on each side) 40 alternating leg lifts and 50 2 hand swings. I'm not a fan of the challenges. I understand that there's a need to measure your progress, but I don't like push ups. But overall this was a pretty decent challenge. It was fairly difficult to get too far along. In the 15 minutes, I was able to get through 2 sets and all but the swings of the 3rd set. I don't think that this is a workout to help you build up, just to measure your progress.

Instructor Comments:
Owen does the same great job on this DVD as on the others.



This disc contains two workouts, both done in an outdoor set overlooking a city. These workouts are done voiceover and there are 2 backgrounders that give you a side view of their form. The disc also includes a w/u & c/d and music options. You will only need a kettlebell for these workouts and they are performed barefoot. The set comes in a very nice secure cardboard book that keeps the discs safely in place.

Workout Seven: (24 min)This is a strength ladder superset workout. For the 1st 10 minutes you perform 1 squat & press per side, 2 single leg deadlifts, 2 squat & press per side, and 4 single leg deadlifts followed by a one minute rest. The next 7 minutes you perform 30 seconds each of: lunge & press, your choice of swing, and rest. The final 5 minutes are 3 sets of Russian twists, plank and rest for 30 seconds each.

Workout Eight: (15 min) This is a challenge workout. You perform a group of exercises (as many times through as possible) and rest as needed. Exercises include: 10 pushups, 20 squat jum ps, 30 rows (15 per side), 40 supine leg drops with the option of holding the kettlebell over your chest, and 50 two hand

The form pointers are great in this as with all the RKS workouts. These workouts get a lot done in a short amount of time. Very full body (including the heart) and work your muscles in a new way compared to traditional strength training. The set is easily adaptable to any fitness level as you can easily adjust the intensity of your workout depending on the weight of your bell. And because they are timed intervals- you can go at your own pace & rest when needed. I received this dvd to review.